1995-96 Home Page

Welcome to the home page of the 1995-96 Des Moines Buccaneers.

In his first year with the Buccaneers, Coach Scott Owens guided the team to a 29-32-3 record.

The Bucs defeated the second seed Omaha Lancers in the first round of the Clark Cup, then fell to Rochester in the second round.

Buccaneer Awards

Twelve Buccaneers received scholarships to play college, and Ryan Bencurick and Klage Kabel were named to the USHL All-Star team.

Klage Kabel picked up three Buccaneer Awards: the Standard Trophy (most valuable player), the Curt Hammer Award (leading scorer), and the Community Service Award.

Mike Nooyen was awarded the Landmark Trophy for the most popular player. Reggie Simon received the Bob McCorkle Award (sportsmanship + ability). A couple of Des Moines natives also received awards too - Christian Laden (Pepsi Scholarship Award) and Scott Clemmensen (Bob Punsalan Award for contribution to amateur hockey.

15 Year Alumni Game Roster